Kale Kauai Style

Love it or Hate it Kale is one of the most nutritious foods around and so versatile. My personal experience with Kale has been a fabulous learning curve, the first time I had it, I juiced it, and as with pretty much everything I do, I do to excess and over the top !! I figure if 2 leaves are good for you them a whole bunch has to be better 🙂  after having this  huge glass of kale juice, my gut, liver and pretty much everything in between let go 🙂 OMG it had a major cleansing  effect !!

Luckily I have learned from that experience. When I was going thru my Raw Food phase, I was making Kale chips, thinking how good they must be for me, wrong !! How can something be good for you when it is dripping with olive oil, salt and nuts ?? Jim and I were eating our way thru bunches and bunches of kale every week, right along with a few tins of olive oil, extra virgin organic of course ( yeah right as if that makes it all O.K.!!!)

Replacing cooked foods with a *#% load of fats doesn’t make any sense, yet another learning experience.

I did finally learn how to eat this fabulous food, in a respectful way for my body, to get the very best from this green beauty. If I do juice it now, I only use 1 or 2 leaves, if I use it in a salad, I cut it finely and use liberal amounts of lemon juice, with a sprinkle of salt, or miso, then allow it to soften, or I simply cook it in with a stack of other veggies.

I have learned to really love this leafy green, especially here on Kauai, where I can source my supply from John & Nandanie Wooten, who have an organic farm, and who grow Kale with muscle !!

          

ALOHA Roslyn

Diary Day 39 Kauai Hawaii

2 thoughts on “Kale Kauai Style

Leave a Reply

