B12 Deficiency in Vegan Diet

Being B12 deficient is such a common problem amongst everyone these day’s it is certainly not a Vegan only problem.

It would have to be one of the FAQ’s that I receive.

Before I came away to Kauai I had a regular medical blood test where the normal range for B12 is 140-489 pmol/L mine came back at a resounding 808 !!! That is simply due to 1 tsp or 6 tablets of Hawaiian Pacifica Spirulina per day.

I do adhere to a vegan diet, and have done so for a number of years now, although not a strict vegan (I may include some fish, maybe once or twice a year if I feel I need it. I also take a fish oil for Omega 3)

Please remember B12 as with all B vitamins are water soluble and therefore cannot be stored in the body, and need to be taken daily.

Another titbit of information about B12 is the integrity of your gut plays a vital role in the absorption, assimilation and manufacture  of B12. If you have been a long time user of any medication or eating a typical western crap food diet you will have a B12 problem.

ALOHA Roslyn

Diary Day  46 Kauai Hawaii

Leave a Reply

