Crossing to Safety – Wallace Stegner – Book Review

Crossing to safety

For those of you who know me, know beyond any shadow of a doubt, that nothing makes me happier than a good book. To immerse myself in the wonders of a great story, and be taken on a mystical magical journey thru an authors mind is BLISS.

What I find the most difficult is to find the right book, many times I have gone to the library or book store only to leave empty handed, not knowing which author or recent release will flick my switch.

My favourite program on T.V. is the ABC First Tuesday Book Club, here I get to indulge in the witty, clever rantings and reviews of recent, classic, favourites and a variety of other genre’s of books, glorious books.

I would love to know what your thoughts, experiences, favourites and much loved books are, to be able to share a Blogging Book Club.

To start the Blog, I have chosen a random much loved read, Crossing to safety, by Wallace Stegner.

Whilst I would not give the story line 10/10 I cannot find enough superlatives to describe the literary skills of this author. It was like reading liquid velvet. Wallace guided me thru a richness that I could fully escape into. I was so profoundly moved by his use of language, and his description of events was almost poetic.

If you have read this book, I would love to know and share your thoughts, if not maybe you could add this one to your book list.

Friends in Books Roslyn

Leave a Reply

