Paleo and other Diets Review

Régime paléo

Paleo and other Diets Review 

Today’s Blog is in direct reply to the John Hopkins Cancer article I posted recently. https://travelphotosfoodandlife.wordpress.com/2013/01/07/cancer-causes-and-cures/

In my personal and professional experience (I have a degree in Nutritional science and have worked in a clinical practice of Colon Hydrotherapy and Nutritional consultations for 12 years) I have come to the conclusion that it is impossible to generalise when it comes to each persons health, diet, exercise programs and emotional status.

In answering the question below , that came from the Cancer Blog, I have decided to do another Blog, as the answer is quite involved.

Question:

I would actually love your view on a phenomenon I come across from time to time.   I seen several people come through my clinic last year who where Vego or Vegan for years for various reasons and recently returned to meat eating.  I also watch the wellness warriors health talks show and discovered that out of the 4 health and wellness ladies on the panel only Jess was practicing a plant based diet. One of the girls said she was vegan for many years and recently started eating meat and following the Paleo diet.   Both her and the people I saw in my clinic reported feeling a lot better for returing to meat.

I’m wondering why this could be as I’m 7 years into an all plant based diet and transforming and feeling better every year.

My feeling is that just being a vego or vegan doesn’t necessarily mean that a person is feeding the body well.

would love you feedback

thanks heaps

Answer:

Lets start with the main reason people eat these day’s, Emotional Eating is the number one reason people eat, ‘lets go for coffee, lets go get some breakfast, It’s your birthday, lets go out and celebrate, I have just broken up with my boyfriend, lets go eat cake !!, had a bad day at work – off to the pub, kids are cranky, off to Maca’s’

Now I am generalising here, but my guess that this represents a large percentage of why people eat, I don’t hear too many people say ‘I need some extra Vitamin A today, or I’m a bit low on zinc or my B vitamins are low today’

During my time consulting on nutrition, I would ask a series of questions, to gauge the health levels of my clients, and I never gave the same remedy, reply or answer to two different people. Every one required a slight tweaking or huge shift from what they were doing to achieve the results they desired.

With this in mind, here is my answer to the above question, every one is different therefore every one is going to require a different diet. No two people are the same, and even further to that no one person is the same on two consecutive days.

Because of the demands that are made on our bodies, nutritionally, emotionally, physically and mentally are nutritional needs vary and change almost moment to moment. The amount of water you require, for instance will vary depending on the outside temperature, your physical activity, medication you may be taking and so on. Now that is just water, if you consider all the thousands of vitamins, minerals, electrolytes and other chemical compounds that make up our bodies, that vary depending on what and where we are at.

If some one feels better eating meat, my first question would be, does this person feel better, because now they feel the burden of being able to eat out with friends socially, has been lifted ? The emotional responsibility of eating a vegan, vegetarian, fruitarian, raw food, or any other type of alternate dietary program the differs from your friends and family will have an enormous social impact on your lifestyle.

There is absolutely no scientific proof that says eating an animal based diet is beneficial for your health. The blood type diet does use a meat based program for O &B blood types due to the ability of these blood groups to digest meat better than their A blood group counterpart. But I can almost hear the screams of protests from every one now !!

Just because the O blood group can digest meat better, simply does not mean eating a meat based diet is healthier for them.

Let’s talk Paleo, this diet works on the program of a hunter gatherer ideology. So my cynical thoughts say, O.K. if you can go out and hunt, kill, and prepare your own animal foods, go ahead !!

If you look at just how much meat the ancient hunters actually did consume, I think you will find it was only about every few weeks if that.

The sad fact is that people love to belong to a tribal thinking, and if you can give someone a title e.g. I’m a Paleo …..etc they feel so much better, and belonging to a particular dietary group these days has a definite prestige attached.

With all that said, I go back to what I said in the beginning, ‘Every one is different, Every one is going to require a different dietary program’ My strongest belief is that if we can teach an individual person to be in touch with their own bodies requirements, that person will be so much better off, than trying to follow a tribal diet what ever that may be.

I have treated many cancer sufferers, and mostly they came with their own dietary program in place, that could have been anything from meat, cream, butter, ice cream, yogurt and all things filled with fat and no carbs, e.g. fruits and vegetables other than the smallest amount of green leafy veg. thru to 13 daily juices.

The most important aspect for these people is if they believed what they were eating was helping.

It truly means didlysquat what I believe, it is all about them. The most important questions I could ever ask my clients was ‘What do you want to do here ?’ ‘What changes can you make ?’ What foods can you give up ?’ ‘What foods can’t you give up ?’ ‘What do you want to achieve ?’ because you know what, it is all about them !!

Way too many practitioners treat clients as numbers, they have a product or philosophy they want to sell, regardless of what the client wants, that is why the failure rate of all these programs are so high. the practitioner fails to empower the client to get in touch with their own bodies, and to know exactly what their body needs at any given time.

I’m sure this will bring up more questions than answers, and that is exactly what a Blog page is for.

Please feel free to add your comments and questions to this Blog. I will be only too happy to answer then all.

LOL Roslyn

Reply

I really love your heart and thank-you Ros. No matter how big or small the question or guidence I have sort from you over the years, you always give so much back and squeeze out every last bit of juice….. 🙂

I feel you have really hit the nail on the head by individualising each person as a whole and dynamic, every changing creature.  There are so many factors at play in our lives that dirrect us to eating in different ways, therefore it’s impossible to approach everyone the same.  I’ve really learnt this the hard and disappointing way over the last year in my clinic.  Just because I can see the obviouse nutritional steps a person could take, like you said, doesn’t mean didlysquat.

The most success I have experienced is when I actually forget about all that I’ve learnt and know about nutrition and simply really connect with a person and listen to what they want.  Further from connecting, igniting a spark of interest and enthusiasm in connecting with their bodies and listening to it’s needs.  It’s really amazing when the fire is lite to see a lot of people actually come up with their own insights.  I’m simply there to shine encouragment and tweak with any tricks of the trade I can offer.

really appreciate your response as I’m really wanting to make further improvements in the way I work with people this year.

Colin 🙂

http://www.fooddude.com.au

5 thoughts on “Paleo and other Diets Review

  1. I really love your heart and thank-you Ros. No matter how big or small the question or guidence I have sort from you over the years, you always give so much back and squeeze out every last bit of juice….. 🙂

    I feel you have really hit the nail on the head by individualising each person as a whole and dynamic, every changing creature. There are so many factors at play in our lives that dirrect us to eating in different ways, therefore it’s impossible to approach everyone the same. I’ve really learnt this the hard and disappointing way over the last year in my clinic. Just because I can see the obviouse nutritional steps a person could take, like you said, doesn’t mean didlysquat.

    The most success I have experienced is when I actually forget about all that I’ve learnt and know about nutrition and simply really connect with a person and listen to what they want. Further from connecting, igniting a spark of interest and enthusiasm in connecting with their bodies and listening to it’s needs. It’s really amazing when the fire is lite to see a lot of people actually come up with their own insights. I’m simply there to shine encouragment and tweak with any tricks of the trade I can offer.

    really appreciate your response as I’m really wanting to make further improvements in the way I work with people this year.

    Colin 🙂

  2. Hi Roslyn,
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts!
    My diet has changed a lot over the years due to having digestive issues with food (I even tried the paleo diet for a while, did not suit me very much). I bloat when I consume wheat, dairy, nuts and fruit. I now eat selective raw foods as I find it light and cleansing. I recently had 3 sessions of colonics followed up with liquid probiotics. Even after drinking a glass of the liquid probiotics, my stomach bloated. I mainly consume superfood smoothies made with coconut water & coconut meat, cold-pressed juices and salads. I recently had a full blood test from the doctor to reveal that I am low in iron, protein, vitamins B12 and D. I have started supplements of spirulina, E3Live, maca, bee pollen and goji berries. Ideally I would love to be able to eat an array of the beautiful fruits that are out there. That’s what my mind wants but not so my body. Over the next few days I will be having a hydrogen breath test to reveal if I have a fructose and/or lactulose issue. I have seen on two separate occasions that there are nutritional gene testing available also. I would love to have this done though not sure how beneficial it will be to me though.
    I would love to get your thoughts and feedback on the above,
    Angela 🙂

Leave a Reply

