Cloudstreet – Tim Winton – Book Review

Tim Winton Cloudstreet

Cloudstreet – Tim Winton – Book review

Tim Wintons Miles Franklin Award winning novel was at the top of my list of must reads. It featured on the First Tuesday Book Clubs ’10 best Australian novels you have to read before you die’

Tim Winton has published twenty books for children and adults, and his work has been translated into twenty-five languages. Since his first novel ‘An open swimmer’ won the Australian/Vogel award in 1981, he has won the Miles Franklin Award four times [for Shallows, Cloudstreet, Dirt Music, and Breath] and twice been shortlisted for the Booker Prize [for The Riders and Dirt Music]. He Lives in Western Australia.

It took me a while to find myself a copy at my local 2nd hand book exchange, as it is a hugely in demand novel, I can’t say with any honesty that it was worth the wait. I found Cloudstreet to be totally joyless, depressed, bleak and grim in all aspects.

The story drones along, highlighting the joyless lives of two families who combine together to live at number 1 Cloud Street. I felt the story just dragged on and on and on, I kept turning the pages hoping there would be some high point to the drudge, but there simply wasn’t any.

Miles Franklin Award not withstanding, my humble opinion would be to give Cloudstreet a miss.

Leave a Reply

