Fermented Vegetables – Kim Chi – Sauerkraut

P1010577_Snapseed

Fermented Vegetables – Kim Chi – Sauerkraut

I am such a lover of healthy raw foods, and what better way of enjoying them than fermented ?

I have been purchasing Peace Love vegetables from Byron Bay in N.S.W Australia and loving the different varieties they offer, here is their Face Book link to check out

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Peace-Love-Vegetables/242928825786110

856974_436515673094090_67119116_o

I just love the tangy spicy flavours they offer, along with the many awesome ingredients that add that something special that guarantees Β healthy gut flora.

Due to the seasonal lack of organic cabbages they have been unable to supply me with my addiction πŸ™‚ and starting to get withdrawal symptoms, I set about making my own.

I looked through quite a few You tube ‘How To’ video’s before gaining the confidence to just get out in the kitchen and have a go.

I went off to our local organic produce store and purchased a huge organic cabbage, picked yesterday πŸ™‚ plus, carrots, leeks, beetroot, spring onions, broccoli, kale, ginger and turmeric, a total investment of $30. My intention of making a cabbage sauerkraut, a vegetable kim chi, plus a beetroot, carrot combo.

P1010564_Snapseed

After only an hour of chopping, grating, and blending, my preparation was complete. It was so easy to make a simply brine 1 litre filtered water – 2 tablespoons Himalayan salt. All I needed to do was to massage the brine through the vegetables and put the mix into jars πŸ™‚ 2EZY

Thought I would update you on how my first attempt in fermenting vegetables is going

Day 1 – 24 hours after filling my glass jars with amazing veg, there was little change in any way, perhaps some slight frothing on the surface of the jar. I did taste the mix after 24 hours and it tasted salty, with out any tangy flavours.

Day 2 – 48 hours, so pleased I had placed my jars on a tray, as the jars had overflowed slightly πŸ™‚ & the veg had risen in the jar. At this point I simply pushed the veg back down into the jar, and cleaned up the juicy over flow. I did a taste test, the tangy flavour had developed and had started to mellow a little, and the salt flavour was not so strong.

Day 3 – 72 hours, no mess charlie today, everything had settled down, no overflow πŸ™‚ I guess next time I make this I will allow more space for the vegetables to expand, and the juiced to flow. The taste is everything I was expecting and more πŸ™‚ it is tangy, slightly salty, you should be able to alter this flavour based on your own personal salt taste gauge. In a nut shell DIVINE πŸ™‚ even if I do say myself. My plan is to keep out one jar of the Sauerkraut and one jar of the Kim Chi to extend the fermenting time an extra day, just to see what it is like, and place the other jars in the fridge. I also made my weekly stash of Flax crackers today and I added some of the beetroot & carrot ferment. Will let you know how they taste.

Overview on fermented veg πŸ™‚ I am totally converted, I simply had no idea how EZY it was to make such a delicious, probiotic rich food to be used in so many varying ways. You can look forward to a few blogs on this subject πŸ™‚

P1010567_SnapseedΒ  Β  Β P1010570_SnapseedΒ  Β  Β P1010572_Snapseed

P1010581_SnapseedΒ  Β  Β P1010584_Snapseed

Lot’s of love, enJOY indulging your gut flora – Roslyn

Here is a video link that has GR8 info

4 thoughts on “Fermented Vegetables – Kim Chi – Sauerkraut

  1. Great blog Roslyn, I admit since I found Peace Love and Vegetables I have been lazy and not made anymore myself.
    I still have some cabbage sauerkraut left that I made but really enjoying the kim chi.

    • Hi Teniel πŸ™‚ I was perfectly happy devouring bottle after bottle of PLV Kim Chi & Superkraut until I ran out and they hadn’t received their load of cabbages, so my hand was forced so to speak to get into the kitchen a remedy my addiction. But I will still be placing my order for their magic potions when they come available again.
      I do take an assortment of different probiotics daily, but my body is screaming at me to eat this food right now, so I am listening and acting
      Always love your posts with all the yummy food you are sharing with your babies ❀
      LOL Friends in Food Roslyn ox

  2. I love my fermented veges too. I started making my own last year and absolutely love the way each batch has its own taste. I use some of the previous batch to start the fermentation process, plus I add a bit of one of the fermented drinks you can buy such as Grainfields. I really enjoy my sauerkraut crunchy and without the salty taste, so I don’t add salt. My 20 month old granddaughter gobbles it down like there’s no tomorrow…..she started having the fermented vege juice at about 9 months old and absolutely loves it all. πŸ™‚

    So glad I discovered fermented veges…yummo!!

    • Hi Annette, Thank you so much for sharing your fermented experience, I am such a new baby to all of this, and I am absolutely loving it πŸ™‚ and agree entirely with the unique taste that develops over time, I am experimenting with how long to leave it out in room temp. to see how the flavour develops, changes and takes on its own personality πŸ™‚
      Thanks for the tip on using some of the last batch as a starter and the use of Grainfields !!
      If you don’t use salt how does it preserve ??
      Having your little granddaughter eating it is fantastic ❀ when you say she had fermented veg juice, do you mean the juices that develops from the veg or do you put the veg thru a juicer?
      I am in Buderim Queensland Australia, do you mind letting me know what part of the world you are from πŸ™‚
      Friends in Fermenting LOL Roslyn

Leave a Reply

